U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-29-2018, 04:19 PM

6 posts, read 2,140 times

Advertisements

Hi all,

I'm getting ready to move back to NoVA with my family from the Eastern Shore of MD. I have no idea what to expect pay wise for a relatively new grad RN and I'm not necessarily sure where to begin looking.. I have around 4 years experience in a level 3 trauma center as both a tech and an LPN.

What should I expect salary wise, and what are some family-friendly areas? I'm from Woodbridge, and I know its not the greatest area but it seems so affordable which makes it very attractive. I plan on working either in Fairfax or in DC.

My wife is also a career woman and currently works in HR as a benefits coordinator. She has every license for insurance under the sun and she plans on continuing with that career path. Again, we aren't sure what to expect with a salary in her field either.

Thanks for the advice everyone.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-29-2018, 05:18 PM

11,367 posts, read 20,163,370 times
I don't know that there are any nurses that post here but surely there is a way to Google salaries?

Old 12-30-2018, 05:08 AM

6,555 posts, read 10,846,462 times
Not sure how long you've been gone but Woodbridge has improved in many areas. Still some areas I'd avoid but all in all Woodbridge has seen some nice improvements. Feel free to ask me about certain neighborhoods as I retired after 30 years with PWCPD. I've been gone for a while but will still know most of the area very well.