U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-08-2019, 04:02 PM

2 posts, read 1,082 times

Advertisements

Hi I got a Reckless driving ticket in PWC in I-95 south. Speed is 86/60 detected by LIDAR.

It was a state trooper. It was 1am at night and I was going back to Richmond with my family after a Thanksgiving dinner party. I was polite to the officer.

Have not had a ticket in the past, except for an expired inspection. I have been driving in VA for 3 years. My points on DMV shows +1.

I am an Assistant Professor of Surgery in VCU since 2015, and waiting to receive my green card. I do not want to have a criminal case on my record.

Do I need to Hire an attorney? what are your suggestions. Please Help, any advise will be appreciated. I also do not want spend too much on attorney fees.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-08-2019, 04:47 PM

10,606 posts, read 12,128,397 times
Yes, you need to hire an attorney. My son had a reckless (but not in PWC) and the attorney worked very hard to get this reduced. You can probably plan on spending around $1500 but it will be worth it. This is one charge you should not navigate on your own.

Old 01-08-2019, 05:20 PM

1,712 posts, read 573,596 times
Agree. Everything must be done very carefully. It's not a matter of getting around the law but, rather, respecting that is it a very powerful thing. And there are ways to be respectful and show your remorse which your attorney will help you with.

There is an old expression: Better safe than sorry.

Old 01-09-2019, 10:40 AM