U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Unread 09-13-2009, 02:15 AM

1,551 posts, read 2,137,612 times
Default Where Will I be Happy in Northern Virginia (or anywhere in the DC area)

Not to ride on the popularity of another form, but after seeing the results of individuals who have experienced excessive sadness from making some decisions as well as the helpful responses, I'm really concerned for my self-happiness as well.

My situation: I'm a recent college graduate who's 22 and on the verge of attaining a job within the next few weeks (possibly as soon as next week). I'm willing to (and would prefer to live) near the city, and am willing to live with room mates (as long as I have my own room). Now you would think that I would be a perfect fit for DC and the nearby mini-cities, but according to my personal experiences, it seems like anything but. Here's the problem: I don't know a lot of people in the DC area (at least people who are genuine), I don't come from a financially affluent background, and lastly.....I'm black. Now I've come to find that Northern Virginia is overall progressive in the sense that there is a lot of racial integration and interracial couples; but the problem is I see most of this racial affability in the areas where the families and older people are (Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William counties). I, however, haven't seen this as much in Arlington and Alexandria, places where more people of my age are concentrated. Not that those plac