U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-04-2010, 05:39 PM

35 posts, read 110,061 times

Advertisements

I am a Chicago native, moved out to Florida in seven Looong years ago, I have three children 13, 11, and 9, I am a professional firefighter, working on a Masters degree in emergency management, then a PhD hopefully, I have a dream of retiring and going to work for FEMA or DHS. I have been considering a move to Prince William County Fire Department or maybe Fairfax Fire, I have been in my profession for over 16 years. I need advice about living in virginia, number one concern public schools, safety, everything else for me will fall into place after that, so I need some advice, my only experience was visiting Virginia when my aunt used to live in Roanoke. So any advice please pass it on, thanks in advance for all of your time and effort, and happy new year!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-04-2010, 06:54 PM

845 posts, read 2,068,517 times
It's very difficult to get a job like that right now.

Old 01-04-2010, 07:58 PM

4,687 posts, read 5,524,435 times
If your primary concern is public schools, Fairfax County schools are widely acknowledged as being better than Prince William County schools. That's not to say there aren't good schools in Prince William, but on balance, Fairfax is your best bet for good public schools.

I checked the FC and PWC government websites for firefighter positions. Here's what I found:

http://www.pwcgov.org/jobs/Jobs2/vac...VacancyID=3725

https://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/jobs/l...sp?job=09-9023