Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-09-2010, 02:21 PM

28 posts, read 67,806 times

Advertisements

Hello all,

I am relatively new to the DC area (6 months) and am looking to buy a starter home. I am married with a kid turning three this summer so I am concerned about finding good public elementary/preschools in the same area.

I am also concerned about resale value. I am not sure how long I will be in this area, and I figured that buying a place near a metro station with decent schools around it, plus rehabbing the place a bit would be enough to ensure the house would be marketable.

I work near the Gallery Place metro in DC, and cannot have a commute that exceeds one hour. We are looking for a *starter* home. I do not see being able to go over $250-275K and would be more comfortable a bit lower than that.

1. Suggestions?

2. I have found a few possibilities near the Huntington Metro and wanted some feedback on the neighborhood, elementary schools, and resale value.

List of schools near the Huntington metro (http://www.schoolmatters.com/schools.aspx/q/page=sr/mr=5/zc=22303/so=1/sc=0/fp=1/fltr_nb=Elementary/p=1?ctxt=946934 - broken link). Does anybody know anything about Cameron, Mount Eagle, Clermont, Rose Hill, Douglas Mac Arthur, Lyles-Couch, Jefferson-Houston etc?

Thanks in advance -- I'll be active on this thread!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-09-2010, 02:59 PM

2,688 posts, read 6,680,916 times