Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > Orange County
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-04-2011, 01:49 PM

4 posts, read 15,670 times

Advertisements

Hi there! I am driving to Houston from Anaheim, CA and this is my first time embarking on such a long road trip. I was planning on leaving late at night or early morning to get thru as much as I can before the sun comes up. I will have a car packed with stuff (Clothes, boxes, etc.). I plan on taking the I 10 straight thru. So I want to ask if there are any little tips that you well traveled ppl may know of such as places to eat along the way, road conditions, what to watch out for, etc. I'll be traveling alone and already know to be alert and vigilant but also wanna know as much as I need to know before I head out. I appreciate any help. Thanks1
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-04-2011, 01:52 PM

26,329 posts, read 93,729,143 times
How many days? It's almost 1600 miles.

Traveling with kids? If so, note where all the McDonalds play lands are on the route so when the kids finally drive you nuts you can stop and let them de-energize.

Let someone know where you are.

Bring a cell phone charger.

Lots of water.

Toilet paper.

Old 07-04-2011, 02:04 PM

394 posts, read 966,662 times
Check your spare tire. Make sure that it is properly inflated in case you need it. Do you have a AAA card or other roadside assistance?