U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Happy Halloween!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oregon
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 06-28-2009, 03:46 PM

8 posts, read 13,542 times
Default To Move or Not to Move to Oregon from Illinois

My wife and I have been contemplating a move to Oregon from Illinois. I am a high school administrator and she is a school psychologist. We have four children aged (10, 8, 5, 2).

The move, if it happens will not take place for 2-3 years, but we want to research the move as much as possible before we actually decide to move. The move could take place earlier if jobs are available for us. We chose Oregon in part because of the weather (the Illinois heat and humidity is horrible) and because of the beautiful landscape of the Northwest.

We would like to live in a progressive area with a population of 15,000 or more. We would like to have programs for kids (Little League, soccer, YMCA) and goods parks and bike/running trails.

Of course, education is important to our family and we would like to be in a city with good public schools. I would like the high school district we live in to have no more than 1,500 kids in the school. We have always lived in older home, but we would just like a solid home in an area with other kids.

I am sure we will have more questions as people respond to our post. We have researched areas such as Corvallis, St. Helens, and Bend. Once we receive information from responders, we will plan several trips to areas that look good to us.