Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oregon
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-22-2015, 08:23 PM

5 posts, read 4,082 times

Advertisements

My husband and I recently moved to Albany from the east coast. I'm a graduate student at OSU and my husband has had a mix of jobs over the years working in a warehouse, a factory, a restaurant, and a greenhouse, plus he was in the marines before I met him. He's been having a really difficult time finding a job in the area. He had a few interviews at the Target warehouse, Lowe's, some staffing agencies... they all keep declining to hire him because he has a marijuana charge on his record back in our home state (actually, it was just possession of paraphernalia, not even actual marijuana). Which I think is pretty strange, given that marijuana was recently legalized here.

So where are the jobs that don't care about a drug charge on your record? I'm really surprised that these kinds of jobs even do background checks. Back home, it was extremely rare for a warehouse or production job to even check your references, let alone do a criminal background check. Also, is there some secret to getting jobs to call you? There have been several jobs that never called and kept putting ads up online or in front of their business. Is the trick to call them everyday until they bend to your will?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-22-2015, 11:58 PM

32,639 posts, read 48,015,234 times