U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Orlando
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-24-2007, 12:30 PM

14 posts, read 30,107 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I will be relocating to Orlando this fall for graduate studies. While I attend school, I will be working. I am interested in the job market in the tech sector. I have 10+ years worth of experience in technical writing and graphics, as well as 7+ web development/web design. I know Orlando is known for its tourist industry and that there is a tech sector - but I'm not sure if the workforce is glutted with surplus workers. Can anyone give me info about this or the tech market in general?

Also, I've been reading a lot about workers needing to know spanish. I'm assuming this is primarily for jobs that require a lot of public contact. Is this true?

Appreciate any feedback you can provide!

cwebgrrl
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-24-2007, 01:21 PM

1,495 posts, read 4,221,510 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwebgrrl View Post
Hi,

I will be relocating to Orlando this fall for graduate studies. While I attend school, I will be working. I am interested in the job market in the tech sector. I have 10+ years worth of experience in technical writing and graphics, as well as 7+ web development/web design. I know Orlando is known for its tourist industry and that there is a tech sector - but I'm not sure if the workforce is glutted with surplus workers. Can anyone give me info about this or the tech market in general?