Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Parenting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 01-01-2014, 09:40 AM

11 posts, read 10,753 times

Advertisements

Okay, I'm 25 years old and I moved in with my girlfriend about 2 months ago and found out she was pregnant shortly after. Now she already has a 5 year old son, his father left and hasn't seen them in 3 years. So, I'm completely new to the whole parenting thing and I'm trying to do my best but I have some concerns...

A little background first... She rents an apartment, and her father and step mother live there with her and her son and now myself as well. I used to stay and visit on my days off from work and things were fantastic. Now that I've moved in, I have noticed more things that I'd like to discuss and get some advice on.

I'm a neat/clean person, and she isn't so much. She has a bad habit of changing clothes and leaving them all over the floor and bathroom, and her 5 year old son pretty much follows in her footsteps of everything she does and throws his clothes everywhere too. I was cleaning it all up, but it was pretty much an every day thing so I stopped and decided I'd just focus on keeping my things together/clean and neat.

Now it drives me crazy, and it also makes me depressed and keeps me in a bad mood to live in a mess all the time. When I mentioned some "standards" to her, she told me not to try and change her so now I'm not really sure how to address the situation. If she can't keep her clothes picked up and be neater, how can I make her son do it when she can't enforce it?