U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Parenting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-28-2008, 10:30 AM

418 posts, read 1,285,303 times

Advertisements

Posted my question here:
2nd grader: Retelling problems - ParentingForums.org

You folks have any inputs, please.. any suggestions, tutors, etc would be highly appreciated.

also, anyone knows the cost of private schools like boyd in ashburn, VA, and/or if private schools would help this situation and/or would be better?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-28-2008, 10:39 AM

192 posts, read 182,767 times
I'm not an expert, but let me make a suggestion. Have him read the newspaper to you (it's mostly non-fiction). Let him read to you about World events from your home country. Then have a discussion with him about the contents of the article. If he is interested in sports--let him read about his team and the players. Good luck, your concern is a step in the right direction. I know some fifth graders, who do not know what street they live on.

Old 01-28-2008, 11:17 AM

1,261 posts, read 5,517,808 times