Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Parenting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-16-2009, 07:46 AM

758 posts, read 1,866,678 times

Advertisements

I took my 10 soon to be 11yr old son for a haircut and he throws a fit everytime. He wants to keep it longer, I don't mind if he keeps it long but I've told him if he's not going to brush it I'm gonna cut it. When do you think boys start taking hygiene upon themselves? At nearly 11 it doesn't seem like I should have to harp on him to brush his hair or teeth or take a bath etc...

I have zero experience with boys, no brothers or anything and his father doesn't seem to know either. How much longer do I have to look forward to this kind of thing?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-16-2009, 07:50 AM

515 posts, read 1,326,857 times
I don't see what the problem with longer hair is.

Old 04-16-2009, 07:53 AM

24,012 posts, read 28,356,739 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry251 View Post
I don't see what the problem with longer hair is.
The OP has no problem with longer hair either.....as long as the boy in question takes appropriate care of it. I think that is a reasonable postition. If he is old enough to select his own hairstyle, he is old enough to maintain it. An 11 yo is certainly old enough to take care of his personal hygiene - hair should be reasonably clean and combed....