Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-13-2006, 01:04 PM

29 posts, read 79,900 times

Advertisements

I'm here in Georgia, newly widowed. Grew up in Wilkes-Barre area. It would just be me moving up there, tossing around the idea of moving back, but maybe an hour away from the "valley".Any suggestions? Ps, I work in healthcare. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-13-2006, 06:44 PM

32,616 posts, read 77,608,316 times
Let me start by saying that I'm very sorry to hear about your loss. I'm only 19, but I've spent enough time driving around the area and making connections with a slew of different people to have a pretty good idea of the quality-of-life in every corner of Scranton/Wilkes-Barre.

Wilkes-Barre itself has been struggling to bounce back for years now after the Agnes Flood of 1972. Ever since then everyone who had the financial means to do so has packed their bags and "moved on up" to massive new housing developments in the Back Mountain and Mountain Top (You'd probably be shocked at how overdeveloped the Dallas area has become since you saw it last!) While current Mayor Thomas Leighton is trying to get people interested in leaving the 'burbs and coming to live in the city again, he's not been too successful. The city overall is still declining, and crime (in most neighborhoods) is on the high side.