|

10-12-2009, 08:00 AM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
26 posts, read 13,636 times
Reputation: 10
|
|
Need any info on company - Computer Information Solutions
Hello,
Can someone please advise if they have heard of the following company - Computer Information Solutions. They have offices in Carnegie PA but I'm unable to locate a web site or address
If any one has any info or can shed some light I would be grateful
Thanks,
crosado146
|
|

10-22-2009, 01:57 AM
|
|
Junior Member
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 10
|
|
|
Ms. Crosado,
I saw your note here...My wife has been in toucvh with CIS, who offerred her a job...very strange as the interview with them was entirely via chat. Likewise - we couldn't find any info either. After the interview she was asked to pull togther some research on starting a business in the U.K.
I am uncertain about these guys - and worried this might be a scam of some kind. They do not request any money o anything like that - and they promise $40 / hr for working 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM local time.
They have a facebook page.
Hopefully you have not had a bad experience - but if so let's compare notes.
Pat
Mod cut - please use DM feature by clicking on posters name- do not post e-mail addresses
Last edited by toobusytoday; 10-22-2009 at 05:29 PM..
|
|

10-22-2009, 06:08 AM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
26 posts, read 13,636 times
Reputation: 10
|
|
Hello Pat,
I share your feelings as well as your concerns, my interview was too conducted via chat and have been in contact with a John Terry from this company - sounds a bit like a scam as well as a new business. I am due to start working next Tuesday, I will share any new information as well as my experience with you after the first day.
Of course when I enquired about receiving company information, etc. I was advice as well as ensured that all needed paperwork and materials will be provided on my first day; we'll see how it goes. If I am able to obtain any more info I will email it to you
Thank you for your feedback and will keep you posted
Carolina
Mod cut - please use DM feature by clicking on posters name- do not post e-mail addresses
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmhincolo
Ms. Crosado,
I saw your note here...My wife has been in toucvh with CIS, who offerred her a job...very strange as the interview with them was entirely via chat. Likewise - we couldn't find any info either. After the interview she was asked to pull togther some research on starting a business in the U.K.
I am uncertain about these guys - and worried this might be a scam of some kind. They do not request any money o anything like that - and they promise $40 / hr for working 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM local time.
They have a facebook page.
Hopefully you have not had a bad experience - but if so let's compare notes.
Pat
pmhinclo@comcast.net
|
Last edited by toobusytoday; 10-22-2009 at 05:29 PM..
|
|

10-22-2009, 06:40 AM
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SouthEastern PeeAye
227 posts, read 65,081 times
Reputation: 55
|
|
|
If you don't ever talk to a live human being, much less meet them in person, before starting a new job, you are being scammed.
Did you send them your SSN, birthdate, bank account #s, or any other identifying information? If yes, call the PA attorney general's office ASAP.
|
|

10-22-2009, 12:21 PM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York
26 posts, read 13,636 times
Reputation: 10
|
|
Thanks for the info - I have not given out any personal info such as SSN, DOB, bank account # - they have not asked for any of this infromation as of yet nor will I provide it unless I am certain this is a legit company
thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeeAye Native
If you don't ever talk to a live human being, much less meet them in person, before starting a new job, you are being scammed.
Did you send them your SSN, birthdate, bank account #s, or any other identifying information? If yes, call the PA attorney general's office ASAP.
|
|
|

10-22-2009, 04:24 PM
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SouthEastern PeeAye
227 posts, read 65,081 times
Reputation: 55
|
|
FYI, PA has a " Searchable Corporations Database" here: http://www.corporations.state.pa.us/...asp?corpsNav=|
That exact name is not listed.
|
|

11-16-2009, 08:26 AM
|
|
Junior Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 10
|
|
|
I also received a job offer.
Hello,
We found your request on the job employment website that you are looking for a new employment that is reliable and legitimate. We at Computer Information Solution hereby offer you an employment which requires you work at home as our company staff. We are located in PA and we are into computer parts and general office supplies. We have clients in your region that we supply with computer parts regularly and we need a staff in the region to work for the company from home so as to enhance our regular supply to our clients.
The job we wish to offer you entails that you have a personal computer, a working printer and minimum of 200 regular printing papers. You would work between 9AM - 4PM from Monday - Friday and you would be on $40 hourly.
However it is important we let you know that at Computer Information Solution we do not ask any of our staffs to pay fees, cash or receive checks on our behalf or make any payment or invest money on the company, neither do we demand for any payment before or after interview.
Incase you are intrested in this job opportunity do get back to us at your earliest convenience by sending in your resume and we will respond with an interview date which will enable us to enlighten you more about the job position.
Regards,
John Terry
(412) 428-9556 Ext. 1
Computer Information Solution.
This has to be a scheme.
crosado146, how did your first day go?
|
|

11-16-2009, 09:06 AM
|
|
Member
Status:
"Amazed"
(set 20 days ago)
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central PA
63 posts, read 13,055 times
Reputation: 42
|
|
|
Very little info exists about the company and how can a parts supplier afford to pay $40/ hr? Doesn't add up.
|
|

11-16-2009, 01:30 PM
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2007
5,590 posts, read 3,501,627 times
Reputation: 1046
|
|
|
You should post this thread in the Pittsburgh forum. Carnegie, PA, is in Pittsburgh.
Maybe someone in that forum knows something about this company---or the best way to destroy it if it's a scam.
|
|

11-16-2009, 09:13 PM
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Right here. Can't you see me?
474 posts, read 151,960 times
Reputation: 249
|
|
|
Wayyyy too many red flags with this one. $40 to work from home for a company that is seemingly non-existent? A chat interview? I would never provide a SSN, DOB or other personal info for something like this, yet it would send up a bright red flag that they didn't ask for it. How are they going to pay you? They'd need that info to pay you. Did you fill out some sort of application where they verified that you were at least 18?
And the job itself...they're looking for reps for a particular area, yet you work from home. That makes no sense.
One of the first things I would look for - did the email come from a domain based email address that is the same as the company name? If it came from hotmail, yahoo or gmail...I'd be wary. You can also check the headers for the IP address and see if it is coming from the same area the company is supposedly located in. And even then...I'd still be careful.
Remember - if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.
|
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick.
Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.
|
|