Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-09-2010, 08:24 PM

8 posts, read 113,136 times

Advertisements

Hello people, I am an international student currently studying in Pennsylvania. I have my country driving licence and an international driving permit. I will be staying for 15months. I need a car. I was thinking of buying a car instead of renting as renting is too costy. But I don't have a PA licence and I am afraid automobile insurance companies would not want to insure my car.

1) what are the documents needed to buy a car ? I don't have a social security number as I will not be working in the states. I do have a I-20form, visa, passport, my country driving licence and an international driving permit that expire in 1 year time.

2) do you guys think I should instead buy a expiring lease rather than buying a car ?

3) Where is recommended to buy a car, what are the things I should look out for and how easy is it to sell a car when I am leaving PA ?

4) How much roughly it will cost for automobile insurance for someone who has 1 year driving experience ?

5) I wanted to get PA licence but one of the required documents is the SS no.which i don't have. That is one problem. And I heard it is possible to still get the PA licence if one has a letter of denial from SS that stating I cannot have a SS number. Anyone know of this ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-11-2010, 04:45 PM

43,011 posts, read 108,004,288 times