U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > People Search
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 05-31-2008, 05:24 PM

1,084 posts, read 2,758,392 times
Default Things to consider before you give out info

I am not a moderator. I don't normally use this thread but as I was browsing it occurred to me that sometimes abusers look for their victims in pretty creative ways. A long time ago, I worked as a counselor for victims of assault by family members or significant others. The one I recall vividly is a guy who put a gun to someone's head. He later tracked her down by getting info on her (using a ruse) and she had to leave again. Some states have rules against giving out the phone or address of a person without their permission.

All I am suggesting is, don't do it without permission. I did not see this rule posted but it's a reasonable rule of thumb.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-01-2008, 06:58 AM

2,074 posts, read 7,974,170 times
I sure wouldn't want my name and address posted all over the internet. I understand that this forum can be a desperate chance to find a family member or old friend ... but there are ways to find/search on your own. You may have to pay for it, but I'd suggest you do the research yourself. If they're out there, you'll get leads and possibly find them.

I had an abusive husband ------ he's out of the picture and I sure don't want him to know where I live.

Food for thought.

Old 06-05-2008, 06:47 AM

3 posts, read 4,575 times