U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics > Personal Finance
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-07-2007, 04:49 PM

70 posts, read 200,447 times
Default 100K of student loan debt.. advice for paying this off?

Alright,

I'm about to graduate with about 100K of student loan debt. I imagine this would be typical if I were a med student or something, but I'm an engineer. Anyway, I am well aware that it was really silly of me to take on this much debt throughout my undergrad career, but I can't go back and change that now, all I can do is try to make it through this in one piece.

My question is, do you have any advice on how to pay this debt down quickly? Like, are there any ways to consolidate to get an APR less than this horrendous 8% that I've had for the last two years of college? Are there agencies that can help me? Anything like that?

I appreciate any advice you have.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-07-2007, 06:31 PM

2,368 posts, read 5,137,562 times
Whatever you do - remember that you can only CONSOLIDATE it once. So, that's it.

Also, some private loans (citi loan, etc...) can't be rolled in with federal (stafford or plus) loans.

If you're in Michigan (no reason that you would be) - the state has a great program for loans taken out after 1999 - where your interest drops immensely after 3 years of on time payments. You may want to look and see if whatever state your in has anything similar?