U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics > Personal Finance
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-10-2015, 09:25 PM

16 posts, read 17,171 times

Advertisements

I have lived through many failed budgets. But, have been listening to the Dave Ramsey show and feel that my wif and I need to try again.

My job might be over in June....

I am a teacher at a private school. I make about $44,000 a year. My wife does odd jobs while she homeschools our youngest and makes $6,000 a year.. So we are looking at $50,000/year income.

We have about $12,000 in Credit Card debt and $2,000 in student loans.

I applied for Income Based Repayment for my student loans and have a $15/month payment

We live in the boonies and spend about $250/mo for commuting.

We own both our vehicles and pay $100/mo for insurance.

My wife cooks great and can do wonders with $350/mo for a family of 5 for food.

Our cells run us $98/mo

Internet is expensive because we can only get DSL and they require phone service to get it - $70/mo

Our rent is really low at $400/mo

Electric and wood averages out to around $250/mo

We pay $260/mo for our kids' schooling

But the latest thing that hurt us is that all 3 of our kids have bad teeth. The company I am working for has great insurance @ $150/mo.. They just changed premiums and plan structures and we opted for the new plan at $150/mo. Before the new plan was implemented we started ortho for all our kids. The bill is $19,000 and the old plan covered 50% which leaves us with $8,500. They want it paid off in 24 months which means we have to pay $350 a month.