Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics > Personal Finance
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-05-2018, 02:07 PM

55 posts, read 52,854 times

Advertisements

I'm a student in the middle of their first year. I came into some money (about $20k), and was trying to figure out if I would be better off if I paid off the majority of my current student loans, which total about $24k or if I should use it to pay for next year so that I don't have to borrow as much when that time comes. At first, it would seem like an obvious choice to pay off current loans to reduce the interest charges. However, the Fed recently started to raise interest rates and this would probably continue enough where a future loan might be significantly more expensive than my current ones. My current government loans are are at a little over 4% with no payment due for the in-school period. My bank loan is at 5.4% with only interest payments being required while in school. Thoughts?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-05-2018, 02:23 PM

3,923 posts, read 6,836,808 times
Do you think you have a chance to qualify for government grants? I always thought that the more broke you are as a student the more likely your chance of getting government assistance. Assuming your parents don't disqualify you perhaps you'd want to pay down those loans today in the off chance your savings won't count against you when you fill out the FAFSA for next years loans.