U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics > Personal Finance
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-22-2018, 09:50 PM

2 posts, read 1,109 times

Advertisements

Okay so I'm new to this and wanted to know what I can do in this situation...

Recently purchased a car at a Subaru dealership in Oklahoma a few days ago. Let's say agreed upon sales purchase agreement the car was $28,500. I put down $16,000 so the remaining balance would be $12,500 to finance. So after signing off on those terms, the finance manager began selling me on extended warranty. I refused multiple times to purchase it and I thought I wouldn't have to worry about it again during the paperwork process.

I go on to sign physical documents like disclose of insurance, etc. And out of nowhere, he then tells me I have to electronically sign a few other documents (I was never shown what those documents were). I was naive to think that this was just a normal process at the time so I just signed away without knowing what it was.

As the deal was completed and as I was on my way out to drive home my new car, I realized he had not given me some sort of loan contract that states the APR, interest owed, etc. So I had to go back into the dealership and ask the finance manager to provide me the documents. I then went home without looking at the document right then and there.