U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics > Personal Finance
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-13-2008, 09:46 PM

12 posts, read 50,766 times

Advertisements

I'm horrified right now and am wondering if anyone else out there has had a similar experience. I'm a designer and I have a separate business checking account with BofA.

I took a close look at my bank fees the other day and discovered that since April 2008, BofA has been taking $48 in fees a month out of my account. They look like this:

$13 for account fees (I never had to pay this before)
$15 for premium online services
$10 for automatic employee payroll service (I have no employees!)
$10 for automatic customer invoicing

I'm in the process of getting BofA to reverse all these charges, which total $240 over the five month period.

This is just unbelievable to me. I never (to my knowledge) authorized these services. I'm closing my business and personal accounts with them as soon as possible, and I'll never do business with them again.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-13-2008, 10:41 PM

2,954 posts, read 10,999,502 times
I've hated Bank of America for decades.

The very first contact I had with them was back in the 70's. I sold an item and was paid with a B of A check. I went there to cash it and they refused because I didn't have an account there, even though it was their check and the account it was written on had the funds.