U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics > Personal Finance
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 05-10-2010, 01:43 AM

7,437 posts, read 7,615,968 times
Default Student Loan Forgiveness - Brain Cancer?

I recently heard about someone getting their student loans forgiven (or at least deferred, probably indefinitely) because they developed brain cancer.

I have an WHO grade II oligodendroglioma brain tumor. It was discovered the fall semester of my senior year in college (that is, last fall). My degree is one of those that are semi-"useless" without an M.A. Unfortunately, smack-dab while in the grad school application process my tumor was discovered, and the surgery left me out of school for four weeks, and needless to say, interrupted my grad school application process. I am applying for grad schools for next year.

I can work and should be able to make the initial payments upon the end of my six-month grace periods, but my tumor could kill me in a few years (or it could allow me to live for 30 or 40 years...it is known for its clinically unpredictable behavior). I don't want to die in repayment. Has anyone heard of student loans being forgiven or deferred due to terminal cancer?