Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-04-2010, 10:44 PM

1 posts, read 1,164 times

Advertisements

I am a recent Canadian University graduate looking to move to Philadelphia for social work. I have never been to Philadelphia before and I am interested in knowing what areas are considered to be more safe to live in than others. I am also curiours as to what the average cost is to rent a 1 bedroom apartment? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-05-2010, 04:37 AM

27,169 posts, read 43,857,618 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juney28 View Post
I am a recent Canadian University graduate looking to move to Philadelphia for social work. I have never been to Philadelphia before and I am interested in knowing what areas are considered to be more safe to live in than others. I am also curiours as to what the average cost is to rent a 1 bedroom apartment? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Unfortunately not much of the city is considered (or is) safe. Safe in my book translates to either imminent threat to one's safety, or the perception of not being safe. Neither is a pleasant way to live. I know on a Social Work budget you're typically not on a big salary either and finding a one bedroom apartment that is in one of those areas for less than $1000 per month is pretty much impossible. You might consider sharing in one of the nice areas that is centrally located or going it alone a bit further out in a safer spot.