U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-26-2011, 09:37 PM

1 posts, read 6,219 times

Advertisements

I'm a student at Drexel right now and I go back home every weekend. I take the train to Trenton and get a ride the rest of the way, which is $8.75 each way. Periodically, I go up to Secaucus which is much more expensive. Is it worth it to get a monthly pass? I can get a 10% discount on SEPTA for a monthly and 25% off of NJ Transit. I can't even figure out exactly which passes I need. Help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-27-2011, 12:20 AM

3,856 posts, read 7,773,885 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by afowl1089 View Post
I'm a student at Drexel right now and I go back home every weekend. I take the train to Trenton and get a ride the rest of the way, which is $8.75 each way. Periodically, I go up to Secaucus which is much more expensive. Is it worth it to get a monthly pass? I can get a 10% discount on SEPTA for a monthly and 25% off of NJ Transit. I can't even figure out exactly which passes I need. Help would be greatly appreciated.
I definitely wouldn't get a monthly pass.

If I understand correctly, an "Anywhere" monthly pass would be $191 per month. If you're traveling 8 times per month, multiply that by $8.75 and you get $70. Unless you plan on doing travel on the Regional Rail during the week, you'd be wasting a lot of money.

The fare brochure is here: http://www.septa.org/fares/new/fare-brochure-2010.pdf

For NJT, you can calulate your fare here: New Jersey Transit