U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 01-02-2012, 08:50 PM

17 posts, read 18,063 times

Advertisements

Hi all,

I'm back again now that I decided to purchase an investment property for rental in West Philly. I'm priced out of most University City neighborhoods but it seems that areas a bit further west (say, 48-53rd streets, between Walnut and Spruce) have some more affordable options. I'm a grad student at Penn and have heard enough stories about this area being sketchy. However after taking a few walks there I found those areas seemed safe and relatively well kept, and I'd like to confirm my impressions with this board. Also, I'd appreciate any advice on the rentability/desirability of this neighborhood. Again this property would be used as a rental. Any suggestion on other location/neighborhood is also welcome.

Thank you in advance for your comments!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-02-2012, 08:54 PM

1,225 posts, read 1,313,332 times
I know some college students who live out that way. A few people have been buying houses as well, but a bit further south around Malcolm X Park. The closer you get to Market St generally the sketchier it is.