U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-20-2012, 09:10 AM

991 posts, read 917,997 times

Advertisements

I am a 33-year old single, male professional looking to possibly relocate to the East Coast in the next few years. I am originally from New York State, and my dad lives in NYC...my mom lives in Central PA, and my brother lives in the DC area. I am a CPA and I did the research and found out that my CPA license transfers very easily to PA and I was thinking that Philly might be a good, vibrant city to relocate too so that I could be closer to my family.

I own a home...I am not sure I want to do that again any time soon. I like (and miss) city life. I am looking for an apartment in a neighborhood where a lot of people live in or near the city. I would also like to dump the car if possible...so I was looking for a walkable neighborhood that would have access to public transportation.

Is this kind of lifestyle available in Philly? I am also looking at NYC, Baltimore, and DC. Philly seems to be the most practical. I will obviously visit the city a few times before I make the decision, but I just wanted to get some tips from locals.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-20-2012, 09:19 AM

7,780 posts, read 18,396,609 times
That would be the best scenario, I think, to live in Philly.

Old 08-20-2012, 10:11 AM

8,702 posts, read 11,876,930 times