U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-06-2019, 03:54 PM

1 posts, read 603 times

Advertisements

This January, I just moved into the philly neighborhood and into a row house and wondering how well can you hear your neighbors? How loud or quiet they are? It's my first time living next to someone side by side. I'm used to having noise come from below or upstairs from living in an apartment and am trying to get used to it coming from right next to my wall, especially in my room. Mostly when I'm in the living room, the first floor, I don't hear much but when I stay in my room and my neighbors are talking or moving things around I can hear it making me wonder well if I can hear them they can surely hear me. I'm more of a quiet/private person so I feel like I have to walk around, move things or do anything silently because they'll hear me. (it's also because I feel like I'm used to banging sounds and sometimes when neighbors yell or party that's when I usually can really hear them but with the row-house I can hear their conversations even when they aren't being that loud, which makes it uncomfortable when I think about how they can hear me). Do you interact with your next door neighbors? I have one neighbor who is practically super silent but the other that sounds like they are always slamming their drawers at times. Also, this is going to be a weird question, but can you hear your neighbors make sounds on their mattress? I ask because I'm in the smaller room with no space for a desk so I'm mainly doing my homework, rea