U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-08-2010, 08:15 PM

7 posts, read 11,336 times

Advertisements

I am looking for suggestions on areas where to live in Philadelphia, PA as I am moving there for work in around two months from Milwaukee, WI. I am a 26yo male professional looking for an area that has a feel like Lincoln Park, Chicago, IL for anyone who has visited Chicago. My new job is going to be in Langhorn, PA, but do not want to live in the suburbs as they tend to get a little boring. Also, I do need to keep into consideration the parkig situation as I will be needing my car as well.

Basically, I am looking for where the "action" is and where people around my age live by. A relatively safe area with restaurants / cafes, bars, clubs, but at the same time places I can go for walks and what not. From what I have read Rittenhouse and City Center are my best choices, but I am just starting my search, therefore all opinions and recommendations are very much welcomed. Thank you!

Last edited by milwisguy; 05-08-2010 at 08:41 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-08-2010, 08:37 PM

119 posts, read 235,456 times
Depends a little on how much you want to spend. As you probably know homes in Lincoln Park tend to be around 1 mill. Some other good options given your criteria include: Northern Liberties/Fishtown, Old City (center city east), Fairmount, Manayunk, and East Falls.

Good luck!