U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona > Phoenix area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread
 
Unread 01-12-2012, 03:02 PM
 
1,232 posts, read 1,107,608 times
Reputation: 614
I switched from Cox internet to Qwest DSL (now called CenturyLink). It's just or nearly as fast and for me has been a lot more reliable. But Cox has a physical cable problem on our street and chooses not to fix it, or something. But I work from home, all heavy data over internet and Qwest has been better.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Unread 01-12-2012, 04:10 PM
 
Location: One year in Raleigh, NC
4,403 posts, read 3,649,582 times
Reputation: 5184
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReadyFreddy View Post
I switched from Cox internet to Qwest DSL (now called CenturyLink). It's just or nearly as fast and for me has been a lot more reliable. But Cox has a physical cable problem on our street and chooses not to fix it, or something. But I work from home, all heavy data over internet and Qwest has been better.
That is the exception rather than the rule, Fready. We've had Cox Internet since 1998, in two different homes. Problems have been few and far between, and fixed very quickly. With the premier plan, I pay for 25 mbs and get 21-25 on a wireless connection. If I were to direct connect to the modem (not wireless), my speed goes into the high 30's. You will NOT get that with DSL.

Not everybody needs those 'blazing speeds.' So DSL might be perfectly acceptable for some. Not for us - but I admit, I hate their TV services.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 01-12-2012, 05:38 PM
 
1,232 posts, read 1,107,608 times
Reputation: 614
Even at the house before this one, I hated Cox for their crappy service. I was sad when Cable America got bought by Cox because it was an alternative. My next house (moving very soon) I think I will try Cox again, though. It's a silly gripe but I'm tired of the second delay on the satellite tv, when you push a button like "guide".
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 01-26-2012, 07:55 PM
 
Location: Illinois
22 posts, read 32,857 times
Reputation: 23
Quote:
I'd go with a DirecTV+CenturyLink bundle, with the DirecTV Choice Xtra package and 12 Mbps CenturyLink DSL.
Do you use CenturyLink? Have you had any trouble with it? I was going to use that when I move there next month, but I'd love to hear some input about them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 01-26-2012, 09:01 PM
 
8,643 posts, read 8,252,837 times
Reputation: 5512
Quote:
Originally Posted by bswisher67 View Post
Do you use CenturyLink? Have you had any trouble with it? I was going to use that when I move there next month, but I'd love to hear some input about them.
A lot of people don't like CenturyLink in particular. I know a lot of people who were Qwest DSL subscribers and stopped service when they were bought out by CenturyLink due to their poor service.

I've never had a problem with Cox and it's been very reliable. You should also examine your modem and router as both can significantly impact reliability and speed.

I think Cox provides good service. The only time I experienced slow service with them was in the late 1990's when the Valley was growing at a frenzied pace and they didn't have self-install or enough technicians and it could 2 weeks to establish service (I'm sure some of you remember those days). Now you can do it that day.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 01-27-2012, 06:19 AM
 
1,232 posts, read 1,107,608 times
Reputation: 614
I just switched from DirecTV back to Cox and so far the thing I miss is the button on the DTV remote that makes the DVR fast forward 30 seconds each press. Does Cox really not have anything like that yet?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 01-27-2012, 12:59 PM
 
Location: Tempe, Arizona
4,511 posts, read 6,308,831 times
Reputation: 2084
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReadyFreddy View Post
I just switched from DirecTV back to Cox and so far the thing I miss is the button on the DTV remote that makes the DVR fast forward 30 seconds each press. Does Cox really not have anything like that yet?
Nope. However, you can get a Tivo with that feature that will work with a Cox cable card. But you give up the Cox On Demand features, and your overall cost may be higher with the Tivo subscription.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 01-27-2012, 01:12 PM
 
Location: One year in Raleigh, NC
4,403 posts, read 3,649,582 times
Reputation: 5184
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjrcm View Post
Nope. However, you can get a Tivo with that feature that will work with a Cox cable card. But you give up the Cox On Demand features, and your overall cost may be higher with the Tivo subscription.
It will cost more, though I admit that the software that is offered by Tivo beats Cox's DVR to a pulp.

However, the cox cable card that you have to get for the hdtv Tivo works like crap. Devoted Tivo fans, but we finally gave up. Cox, Tivo and Scientific American are well aware of the problem, but there's not enough financial incentive to fix it. We sadly returned to cox Dvr and cancelled Tivo.

Note that with non hdtv Tivo units, you do not need a cable card so the cable box interfaces very well with Tivo.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 01-27-2012, 02:29 PM
 
383 posts, read 251,663 times
Reputation: 518
I'm in the same boat as the OP.

Cox is Cox. I don't like em but it is not cost effective to cancel the contract that we didn't sign up for.

We pay about $85 for ~ 200 stations, a dvr & internet with Cox. I'm furious over what they did to us but really... it is the price point we can afford.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 01-27-2012, 03:28 PM
 
Location: Tempe, Arizona
4,511 posts, read 6,308,831 times
Reputation: 2084
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jkgourmet View Post
...However, the cox cable card that you have to get for the hdtv Tivo works like crap. Devoted Tivo fans, but we finally gave up. Cox, Tivo and Scientific American are well aware of the problem, ...
...
What problem does it have? Mine works fine with my Tivo Primiere.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Options
X
Data:
Loading data...
Based on 2000-2011 data
Loading data...

123
Hide US histogram


Over $74,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona > Phoenix area

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2014, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 - Top