U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona > Phoenix area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 02-03-2009, 11:10 AM

7 posts, read 11,712 times

Advertisements

My husband are making the big move from small town life to city living. I am a fresh college grad with my Bach. and he has his masters. We have narrowed our choices between Houston and Phoenix but need some insight. We are currently in NM so we are accustomed to the differences in weather and the general southwest culture.

We have a small family, 2 kids and 1 dog, and we are fresh out of college. We are not fresh in the sense of we have lived with our parents our whole lives and never had to deal with any kids of grown up things.....we own a house, we have two cars we pay for, we both have full time jobs.......we get it!

We are looking for a place that gives us options of employement, good housing choices, good schools, friendly people, and the ability to take our kids to places for fun...unlike our small town right now.

I am not looking for slamming or bashing of either, just facts from the people who live there......PLEASE HELP!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-03-2009, 12:23 PM

1,836 posts, read 3,205,949 times
Definitely not Phoenix. worst school system in the country and the budgets are being slashed. Plus, the job market is horrible here.

Old 02-03-2009, 12:37 PM

1,170 posts, read 3,316,290 times
I know both places and would not move to Houston. I love the SW deserts. I also like the Gulf but the beaches around Houston are pretty crappy.