U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona > Phoenix area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 02-17-2010, 03:10 PM

4 posts, read 4,259 times

Advertisements

My husband and I are considering a move at some point to Phoenix area. We would only move provided that one of us had a job previously lined up.
Have been reading the forums and seems to be a bleak outlook on jobs there. I have a Bachelors Degree in Counseling and would be looking for nonprofit work but would be open to something else that I would feel suits my strengths. How difficult would you anticipate this being given the economy there? Also, I do have friends in Tempe. Would you recommend putting their address down on resumes? I have heard that when you are an out of stater, they are less likely to contact you for an interview because they like to hire people already located in Phoenix area.

Also, if we do move what area we go to will depend on where our jobs are located. However, just curious--- I would like somewhere that is a good area to raise children that has affordable housing that is easy to get around... Would preferably like it to be close to Tempe as that is where we have friends. Any recommendations?
Quick reply to this message

Old 02-17-2010, 05:28 PM

1,013 posts, read 1,557,927 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by aubreylaine View Post
My husband and I are considering a move at some point to Phoenix area. We would only move provided that one of us had a job previously lined up.