Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Photography
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-16-2009, 02:03 PM

1 posts, read 3,193 times

Advertisements

I have just purchased this camara with a Tamron 18-270 lens to take action baseball shots of my son. So far have only used the auto settings as I am very new to photography with a DSL any advice for getting these shots. I have also noticed that the photos are about 5 mg when downloaded to my computer can I make smaller files without losing sharpness on photo. One last question should I shoot in raw or jpeg? Thanks for any help you can offer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-16-2009, 07:09 PM

20,292 posts, read 37,157,521 times
Congratulations on your new camera! The 50D is quite a nice.

The photos will be large, regardless. I would shoot RAW, and process them with PhotoShop Elements, or even with the Canon software, then save the images you like to TIFF format (these will be huge). You can always save them to a DVD, and also to an external hard drive to save room in the internal hard drive.

Now, you could always shoot JPEG, but you won't have a lot of control when you process them. If you are worried about photo sizes, then you could always shoot small RAW if that option is available on the 50D.

Now, switch to Av, and then do the following (power switch all the way UP):

1. Select a mode such as Landscapes, and adjust the camera's sharpness one click to the right of the default setting
2. Choose AI-Servo, and then burst mode
3. If you aren't sure if it's going to be sunny or not, choose Auto ISO