Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-11-2011, 02:32 AM

9 posts, read 12,485 times

Advertisements

Hello!

This website has popped up a few times in my searches and it looks like there is a really helpful community here. I am a 23 year old graduate of Penn State and I just got a teaching job in Hampton Township. I'm currently looking for a place to live in and around Pittsburgh that's within a 1/2 hour commute of Hampton Township (which is just up route 8 about 10 miles or so). I literally didn't know anything about Pittsburgh two weeks ago.

1. I'm preferably looking for a place in the city.

2. I'm looking for somewhere that has a nice neighborhood feel, where I can walk to parks/restaurants/bars/venues/etc. Definitely somewhere where I can get involved and make friends (I only know a couple of people who live in Pittsburgh).

3. I need somewhere where I can drive easily without too much traffic (I realize that a lot of apartments have included parking spots, but I can also go with street parking. Is there any type of permit or fee required for street parking in the city?)

4. My budget for rent is around $400-$600 plus utilities. Anything lower would be great, of course.