U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Happy Thanksgiving Day!
Happy Thanksgiving Day!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 05-28-2009, 06:57 AM

3,933 posts, read 4,009,190 times

Advertisements

I am relatively new to western PA and I was wondering if anyone knew of any interesting towns (small or large) to visit within an hour or two driving distance of Pittsburgh, just for the fun of exploring? I have been to Wheeling, which was a great town to explore. There were so many fabulous historic buildings downtown, antique shops, etc., and it's not too far. I also took a day trip to Ligonier and loved that town. Anyone have any other suggestions?
Quick reply to this message

Old 05-28-2009, 07:24 AM

20,274 posts, read 18,703,640 times
I lived in Hollidaysburg for a year, and it is a really neat little town if you like 19th Century homes and history--and you can basically walk every block of the historic district in an afternoon if you like. Hollidaysburg was a big deal back when it was the transfer point between the Pennsylvania Canal and the Portage Railroad, and it was also the birthplace of the Slinky. Nearby Duncansville is also a nice place for antiquing.

Hollidaysburg is about 90 miles drive east of Pittsburgh, straight out Route 22.

Old 05-28-2009, 07:45 AM

2,486 posts, read 1,039,212 times