U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-25-2009, 11:10 PM

9,247 posts, read 6,107,249 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone,

I am a scientist in Oregon who is exploring academic jobs. I saw an interesting position at U of Pittsburgh and visited the campus virtual tour-interesting!Then I began reading about Pittsburgh, and it seems quite interesting. When I mentioned the possibility to my wife she freaked!
From what I can see, Pittsburgh has many interesting elements, but there are definitely pros and cons.

What you need to know about us. Outdoorsy, fitness-oriented, low-key, liberal, bookish family of three (6 year old son), with two active dogs to run each day. Wife loves to jog on wooded trails or throw frisbee with the dogs. Me and the boy love science museums, playgrounds, and working in the yard. We are used to hiking each weekend, canoeing on local lakes, backyard BBQs, and meeting cool, unpretentious people. The cityscape of Pburgh seems very majestic, but need greenery too to strike a balance.

Is Pittsburgh for us?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-25-2009, 11:29 PM

20,274 posts, read 18,867,263 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiddlehead View Post
Is Pittsburgh for us?