U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Politics and Other Controversies
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-05-2010, 06:25 PM

1,019 posts, read 1,204,185 times

Advertisements

Anyone noticed all of these Mormon commercials lately, trying to "bust" stereotypes ("I'm a mother but my husband does all the cooking." "I play guitar in a rock band." "I am an artist and sail boats," etc.)? Is this prep for Mitt Romney's next presidential run or what?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-05-2010, 06:29 PM

24,889 posts, read 21,064,600 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by notasmoker View Post
Anyone noticed all of these Mormon commercials lately, trying to "bust" stereotypes ("I'm a mother but my husband does all the cooking." "I play guitar in a rock band." "I am an artist and sail boats," etc.)? Is this prep for Mitt Romney's next presidential run or what?
Economy is bad. Churches increase attendance during harsh economic times.

The church of latter day saints is simply trying to capitalize on the situation, as does any con man.

Old 08-05-2010, 06:35 PM

10,783 posts, read 11,850,516 times
Same reason they knock on doors trying to get you to join. Churches now have gone out of public service and have become money making powerhouses. I had one of them leave pamphlets stating all the "falsehoods" in christianity and life. Stating people should never have transplants and blood transfusions, i think even against any kind of surgery. That there is no heaven, that people will rise when jesus comes to earth,..bla bla,... It's amazing people follow that crap.