U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Politics and Other Controversies
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 08-09-2015, 12:42 PM

5,157 posts, read 2,609,976 times

Advertisements

I know the word "black" offends a lot of you, so I promise that from now on I will only use "African American".

Having said that, do you think it's a good idea to use a figure like Michael Brown as a rallying cry, considering that he was, after all, a criminal?

I'm an ex-cop. During the years that I worked as a cop, I pulled over some people that were rude and some people that were just as professional as I was toward them. Ever since I stopped being a cop, I've gotten pulled over a few times. And every single one of those times, I was always courteous to the officers and they were always courteous back to me.

I am not white. I belong to a relatively small minority group in the US. As a matter of fact, members of my group are often the butt of people's jokes. To deal with that, we just keep to ourselves and go on with our lives. Even the liberal movie makers are so afraid that people wouldn't watch their movies if they had the main character as someone from our group that they had to cast a white guy to play a clearly minority character. Think Dragon Ball Z.

My suggestion is if you want your message to be more effective, please choose another name that isn't connected to criminal activity to glorify. Every time I hear "Michael Brown", I can't help but get reminded that he was, after all, a criminal.

Old 08-09-2015, 01:02 PM

7,328 posts, read 4,017,748 times