Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Maine > Portland area
 [Register]
Portland area Portland, ME metro area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-17-2008, 03:56 PM

21 posts, read 106,493 times

Advertisements

I had a co-worker move to Portland, Maine. I think she is from there, but I didn't know her too well. When she came back to work to visit while she was in town she said it was lovely and really liked it. I am from Michigan (the UP to be exact) and have been trying to get out since I graduated. Don't get me wrong, it can be pretty, but the economy is terribly depressed and the winters are so long. I live in a pretty small town, so I don't want to move to a huge city. Should I put Portland, Maine on my list of possibilities of where to move? I don't have a degree, but have a good work history with experience in office work. Is it a safe place with housing or apartments that are reasonable compared to the wages of the area? If living in Portland itself is expensive, can you recommend some suburbs or surrounding areas that are safe and affordable?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-17-2008, 04:17 PM

12,082 posts, read 38,764,937 times