U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oregon > Portland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-11-2011, 02:26 PM

11 posts, read 6,389 times
Default On my way to portland

Hello,

I'm 27, just finishing college, and moving to the Portland/Beverton area. I have a couple of thoughts in mind so please an help would be appreciated.
I am a certified Kettlebell Instructor (RKC2) with my own business (k2body.com) and i want to start back up in Portland. Is there a good heath & wellness minded community in that Area (Portland/Beverton)? I also would like to not have to drive in the large city environment is the public transportation accessible from that area, reliable, and can i access the rest or the city on public transportation? would i save money living in Beverton or would it be better to live in Portland and travel to and fro?

thank you for any information.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-11-2011, 02:51 PM

1,657 posts, read 2,544,024 times
There are many factors, but just to be clear---
Property taxes are lower in Washington County, where Beaverton is, compared to Multnomah County where Portland is. Some county services are not provided at the same level in Washington County as in Multnomah County.

Be aware, that Beaverton is still in the TriMet area, and you, as an independent self-employed will have to file (and pay) the Mass Transit income tax on your net taxable income, per state law; even if you never use the TriMet system, or get a monthly pass and ride 15 to 20 times per month.