U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oregon > Portland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 04-27-2011, 09:29 AM

161 posts, read 188,812 times

Advertisements

Good morning!

I am currently planning on moving to Portland over the summer. I am living in San Diego, CA, but am getting tired of the beach bunnies. I was born and raised in Berkeley (San Fran Bay Area) and am looking for that hippy, "granola" feel.

I am currently a community college student looking to get into Nursing School (hopefully at OHSU) within the next year or two.

My mom also wants to move up with me, she is a Registered Nurse with a bachelors and multiple masters degrees. She would need to get a job in a hospital, what kind of nursing jobs are available in Portland? Is there only university hospitals? What's the average pay for a nurse with 14 years experience, manager of a large program for 6 years, with a certification in healthcare quality management?

We would be looking for a house together, preferably along public transportation lines to OHSU (my old Subaru can't take commuting anymore). We would like a nice neighborhood that is quiet and safe, with low-medium rent (below $1500/month, preferably around $1200) that has a nice hippy vibe to it. I'm not too familiar with the neighborhoods or burbs of Portland, is there any cool, quirky neighborhoods in a not so expensive part of town?

Thanks!
Quick reply to this message

Old 04-27-2011, 10:05 AM

1,657 posts, read 2,661,979 times
Start here:
Google: Moving to Portland