Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oregon > Portland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-10-2014, 06:42 PM

65 posts, read 107,630 times

Advertisements

Hello all!

I'm a recent technical school grad planning to move to Portland or a suburb in mid to late February. I'm actually coming all the way from Texas. Portland ended up at the top of my list when I started looking, and I'm hoping to get some advice. Don't have a job secured yet, but it's most likely to be in Portland or Vancouver. Edit: To clarify, I'm predicting to be moving then. I'm not going to relocate until I have a job already secured, and have 2-3 months' savings set aside for when I do get there.

Also, if anything I say comes off as.. well, silly (or obnoxious, or any such thing), I should say in the interest of full disclosure that I'm coming from a medium-small city. You can get across my hometown in 45 minutes, but I hardly expect to be able to cross a big city like Portland in a similar timeframe. And it's a very conservative, unfriendly place, so my expectations are going to be *very* skewed, sadly.

(Clarified List here for quick reading! Updated)

Looking for:
- A duplex, house or apartment in Portland or suburbs (since I don't have a job yet, it's hard to know what rent I can afford, but at least $1,250 or so per month before utilities)
- Safe! The safer the better
- Near-ish dog parks

First off, let me say my foremost concern is safety. After that is access to desirable locations. I'm more willing to put up with a longer drive if it means not having to worry as much.