U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oregon > Portland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-23-2008, 01:11 PM

1 posts, read 26,131 times
Default Trendy Neighborhoods in Portland

Hi There,

I am a 31 year old professional moving to Portland from NYC and I wanted some advice as to what neighborhoods to live in. I am looking for some thing that is hip/trendy, with people in my age group, and close to stores etc.

I live on the Upper West Side in Manhattan and have lived in Cole Valley in San Francisco--I loved both neighborhoods and am looking for that mix in Portland.

Help!

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-23-2008, 01:21 PM

2,158 posts, read 3,753,243 times
NW 23rd/Nob Hill area or the Pearl District.

Old 05-23-2008, 01:42 PM

4,629 posts, read 6,026,375 times
Well, oldtintype, NW 23rd is exactly what I thought of when I read this post - even before scrolliing down to see your answer.

I lived for many years on the Upper West side of Manhattan (West 75th Street, to be exact!), and NW 23rd is the one place that popped into my head! Pretty funny...

thierry3, we concur! You will probably love it there. It reminds me a bit of where you live now!

Old 05-23-2008, 05:10 PM

108 posts, read 321,118 times
Default yep

Oldtintype nailed that one, I can't think of another suggestion that even comes close.

Old 05-25-2008, 12:13 AM

14 posts, read 55,094 times