U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Punta Gorda - Port Charlotte
 [Register]
Punta Gorda - Port Charlotte Charlotte County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-12-2012, 07:03 PM

1,640 posts, read 2,211,603 times

Advertisements

I just bought a 21' San Juan sailboat today and it's sitting in the canal behind my house...only problem is I don't know how to sail, or even rig it correctly .

I've been boating for over 20 years and have owned probably over 80 power boats, some I used, some I just flipped. I was never into sailing until now. Sure, when I was young I fooled around with Hobie Cats and Sunfishes but never really learned to sail a real boat.

I bought the SJ 21 because it has a swing keel allowing it to get in 1' of water, and it has a fold down mast so I can get under the one bridge to my house if need be...and it is easily trailer-able. And it was a good price with a nice newer 5hp outboard that got me 15 miles home on just a gallon of gas.

I know a sailing course is probably my best bet unless I can find someone willing to show me the ropes (literally). Has anyone been to a course around here? Are they worth it? I'm guessing the Punta Gorda Yacht club might have something? Is there anyone here that knows how to sail that might be interested in taking a trip out for the day to help me learn the darn thing? I can pay in cash or beer . I am right off Edgewater Dr.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-12-2012, 08:25 PM

3,961 posts, read 8,529,915 times