U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Punta Gorda - Port Charlotte
 [Register]
Punta Gorda - Port Charlotte Charlotte County
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-16-2012, 03:48 PM

2,504 posts, read 2,658,559 times
Default Boating checklist

well my new engine is being installed as I type and I am hoping to have it in the water next week. being a novice I have arranged for a friend who is a US Coastguard auxillary to give me some lessons. I have also read up a fair bit.
the boat hasnt been used for 2 years so I know I need to pick up some new bits but would appreciate any thoughts on my 'check list'.

the boat has....lifejackets,horn, GPS,fish finder,radio, push pole

I am going to buy new flares and fire extinguisher.

I have put together a basic toolkit with screwdrivers,pliers,adjustable wrench, cable ties, WD40,sockets and some cleaning rags,.

what else should I carry (no BH not yeungling....)

and one last question, do I need to carry title,registration and proof of insurance onbaord ?

thanks shipmates
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-16-2012, 05:33 PM

1,151 posts, read 774,621 times
You don't have to carry insurance because FL doesn't require boater insurance. Registration and your ID are required.
First aid kit and a roll of duct tape would be good.
Seatow policy would be smart.

Tell us about the boat.

Old 06-16-2012, 05:49 PM

I have insurance -the marina requires it and to be honest so do I !!!!

have duct tape, First aid kit is onlist