U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary
 [Register]
Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary The Triangle Area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 01-11-2009, 10:52 AM

9,074 posts, read 18,633,913 times

Advertisements

Yesterday while in Durham I took a quick tour of the area known as the American Tobacco Historic District (http://www.americantobaccohistoricdistrict.com/about-us.html - broken link). I am still learning about it and by no means am an expert on the area so Durhamites please feel to chime in with comments on what it has to offer. Here is what I pulled from the website about the campus:

"The American Tobacco Campus is located beside the Durham Bulls Triple-A baseball park, adjacent to a new 2,800-seat performing arts center. The campus features an on-site YMCA, public green space and biking trails, and five restaurants. American Tobacco is home to some of the most prominent businesses in the region, including the nationally recognized public broadcasting station, WUNC Radio"

Looks like a great place that is only getting better in my opinion. I am looking forward to catching some music on the lawn there this spring. It was getting late in the day when I was there and the lighting was not too good, but here a bunch of pictures I grabbed while the sun was still up.

Map showing location of the area

View of just one of the buildings in the campus from the DPAC parking area

Some of the cool brick facades

Security guy on a Segway

The Lucky Strike Water Tower