U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary
 [Register]
Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Cary The Triangle Area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-22-2010, 08:24 AM

9 posts, read 11,382 times

Advertisements

Hello Everyone, I am a single mother of two children ages 12 and 8 I would like to move out of NY and relocate to Raleigh. I recently visited the area and loved it! I can see myself and children having a much better quality of life there. I know this is all pending on if I can find a job in the area first before I move. I work in the Human Services field. I have no friends and family in NC and I am wondering if this is a wise move to make with no support system. But I cant see staying in NY and struggling to make ends meet either. I want to try and provide the best life I can for my children. My questions are:

Has anyone made this move with their children alone and were you successful?

Is there any support groups/resources for single parents moving to Raleigh?

Advice will be greatly appreciated.
Quick reply to this message

Old 01-22-2010, 09:05 AM

6,185 posts, read 13,844,098 times
I moved here "alone" with two kids, two dogs, and two birds, 17 years ago. My kids were 12 and 5.

I knew absolutely no one.

I prepared by placing an ad under "Situations Wanted" in the local paper. The clerk taking my ad strongly advised me NOT to do it and said the classification was only for housekeepers. I insisted.