U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Real Estate Professionals
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-24-2007, 06:57 PM

1,177 posts, read 3,939,855 times

Advertisements

I posted this on an another thread and didn't get any response. I'd be interested in hearing from some realtors.
My position on a Buyer's Agent Bonus may be state specific. I'm a realtor in Tennessee, and in Tennessee we are required to tell the buyer client upfront what our fee for services is. My fee is typically a percent of the sales price. In most every instance, the seller will pay this fee or a large portion of it. The buyer is responsible for any portion of the fee that the seller doesn't pay. In doing this I have agreed to provide the full range of Buyer Agent services for that fee. If a bonus is offerred that pays me above and beyond what I originally agreed to then I don't believe that I am due that bonus. In my opinion that bonus should be applied to a reduction in the purchase price of the property or be applied to the buyer's closing costs and prepaids. It is definitely in the buyer's best interest to do this and I believe it is the right thing to do given that I've already told the buyer what my fee is. I'm not keen on changing the rules in the middle of the game and I don't even want the perception that I might be 'steering' that buyer because of a bonus I might receive.