U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Real Estate Professionals
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-14-2014, 05:56 PM

9 posts, read 10,341 times

Advertisements

Hi all, please give me your 2 cents...

I am a builder and real estate broker, and I am starting a subdivision in California. We started marketing homes before we started construction of any of the homes, to get some pre-sales and generate interest. We got a few of the homes sold, but the few we had available weren't getting offers, much because I believe folks were looking to see us start the building.

We started out with just non-MLS marketing, and I talked the owner into putting the homes on the MLS and offering a referral fee to agents.

The usual way of doing things wasn't possible since we didn't have a model home on site, so I made it easy for agents to register, by emailing me.

The exact words in the MLS listing were:

Commission is a referral fee. Agents must register all buyers with listing agent by email at xxx@xxx.xxx. Please contact me by email with name and city of residence of buyer, and wait for a return confirming email, then a second email with buyer's phone and email will be required to register buyers.

Buyers will need to show proof of funds to close, or get pre-approved with our preferred lender Xxx Xxx before being able to enter into contract.

The first qualified buyer who wants this house will get it, but any referrals will be applicable for future homes as well.

Information website: XXX.xxx - Official .XXX Directory