Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate > Real Estate Professionals
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-21-2008, 04:21 PM

10 posts, read 31,824 times

Advertisements

I've been a Realtor here in Orlando for over five years now. When I first started out, sales were a little slow, since we were coming out of the post 9/11 recession. But, as many of you know, slow periods are a great time to learn a new trade. After a year or so, I finally started getting business through word of mouth, and I started making a respectable income.

2002-2005 were great. I was listing and selling houses left and right. Here in Orlando, it seemed like as soon as you put a home on the market, you got an offer for a home that was greater than the asking price. I won't lie, I was making money hand over fist for little work. I was averaging a closing or two a week.

Then, in 2006, things started slowing down here. Thankfully, prices hadn't started dropping yet, and there were still plenty of buyers in the market. But I was starting to notice that it was taking longer and longer to sell a home. And the inventory was growing and growing.

In 2007, the subprime mortgage crisis hit, and suddenly my buyers couldn't get approved for a mortgage. I don't know about the rest of you, but it seemed like this hit us almost overnight.