U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Real Estate
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-18-2012, 09:59 PM

11 posts, read 46,534 times
Default Is Real Estate Appraiser A Possible 2nd Career?

I'm considering a second career in the real estate field. I've always had an interest in and followed residential real estate closely. I've been in management for a Fortune 50 consumer products company (primarily Finance but also Sales and Marketing) for the past 25 years. I have an MBA and Accounting/Finance undergrad. Professional demeanor/appearance.

I'm ready to retire and start something new so I thought the best place would be to follow my interests. Real estate sales was a thought and I'm open to trying that. Most of my career has involved a fair amount of high level analytics so I thought appraising real estate might be a fit. I'm 56 years old and look forward to many more years of employment. What are the prospects of breaking into residential real estate appraising as a second career? Any insights would be great.

Thanks,
m-dad
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-19-2012, 08:49 AM

2,489 posts, read 4,002,720 times
You will find that many appraisers are appraising as a second career. Your biggest challenge is going to be finding a supervisor who is willing to train you. And your second biggest challenge is to find one who is actually interested in training you and not just is looking for cheap/unpaid labor.

Good luck!

Old 04-19-2012, 02:51 PM